Blogs - Links
What is a Link?
A link is a static hyperlink to another website, that gets placed on the right-hand side of the blog pages. You can use them to create links to external websites, so when users click on them they are brought to the page you specify.
Creating a Link
When you first login to the blog dashboard there is only one way to create a new link.
Click the 'Links' menu item on the left hand side menu then click the 'Add New' menu item
This is highlighted in the image below.
You will be brought to the creation page for a new link. It is here where you actually write the URL of the link and the text you want to display for the link (the text the user clicks) that will appear on the right hand side menu of your blog. The interface is shown below.
*** IMPORTANT: MAKE SURE YOU ADD http:// BEFORE ANY WEB ADDRESS ***
When you are finished writing/editing the text for a link you need to decide only one thing:
- Whether to mark the link as private or not.
This is decided and selected from the menu on the right hand side of the page, as shown below.
|Publish as Private|
Publish as Private: If you ticked the 'Keep this link private' tick box, as shown above, the link will only be viewable by users who are logged into your blog.
This is **** NOT RECOMMENDED **** as regular blog viewers will not be logged in and will not be able to see link items that are marked as private, and therefore will not be able to click on them.
When you have made up your mind about the option you want for publishing simply click the 'Add Link' button, as shown below.
The link item will be displayed on the right hand side menu on the main page of your blog, as shown below.
Deleting a Link
Deleting a link is a very simple process. When you delete a link it is removed from the right hand side menu of the blogs main page and permanently deleted.
To delete a link you must go to the Link management page. To do this click the 'Links' menu item on the left and then the 'Edit' option, as highlighted below.
Then simply select the link(s) that you wish to delete and hit the delete button, as highlighted below. The link will then be removed from the blog main page completely.
When you click the 'Delete' link you will be presented with a message box, as shown below. This is the last chance to cancel you deletion of the link. If you want to delete the link just click the 'OK' button.