Blogs - Links
What is a Link?
A linkn is a static hyperlink to another website, that gets placed on thenrigh hand side of the blog pages. You can use them to create links to external websites, so when users click on them they are brought to the page you specify.
Creating a Link
When you first login to the blog dashboard is only one way to create a new link.
Click the 'Write' tab on the top menu and then the 'Link' subitem
This is highlighted in the image below.
You will be brought to the creation page for a new link. It is here where you actually write the URL of the link and the text you want to display for the link (the text the user clicks) that will appear on the right hand side menu of your blog. The interface is shown below.
*** IMPORTANT: MAKE SURE YOU ADD http:// BEFORE ANY WEB ADDRESS ***
When you are finished writing the writing/editing the text for a link you need to decide only one thing:
- Whether to mark the link as private.
This is decided and selected from the menu on the right hand side of the page, as shown below.
|Publish as Private|
Publish as Private: If you ticked the 'Keep this link private' tick box, as shown above, the link will only be viewable by users who are logged into your blog.
This is **** NOT RECOMMENDED **** as regular blog viwers will not be logged in and will not be able to see link items that are marked as private, and therefore will not be able to click on them.
When you have made up your mind about the option you want for publishing simply click the 'Save' button, as shown below.
The link item will be displayed on the right hand side menu on the main page of your blog, as shown below.
Deleting a Link
Deleting a post is a very simple process. When you delete a post it is removed from the blogs main page and permanantly deleted.
To delete a post you must go to the Post management page. To do this click the 'Manage' tab on the top menu and then the 'Post' section beneath it, as highlighted below.
Then simply select the post(s) that you wish to delete and hit the delete button, as highlighted below. The post and assosiated comments will then be removed from the blog main page completly.