Blogs - Posts
What is a Post?
Writing posts and pages is the core activity in blogs. You can start your blogging at the Write menu. In blogging, you can write either posts or pages. When you're writing a regular blog entry, you write a post. Posts automatically appear in reverse chronological order on your blog's home page. Pages, on the other hand, are for content such as "About Me," "Contact Me," etc. Pages live outside of the normal blog chronology, and are often used to present information about yourself or your site that is somehow timeless -- information that is always applicable. You can use Pages to organize and manage any amount of content.
Creating a Post
When you first login to the blog dashboard you are presented with a few options on how to create a new post.
You can start to create a new post in one of two ways
- Click the 'Ne Post' button on the top right hand side menu
- Expand the 'Posts' menu on the left and click the 'Add New' link
Both options are highlighted in the image below.
When you click one of these options you will be brought to the creation page for a new post. It is here where you actually write the text and carry out the formatting options for the post that will appear on the main page of your blog. The interface is shown below.
When you are finished writing/editing the text for a post you need to decide on a few things.
- Whether to publish, mark for review or leave the post unpublished.
- Whether to publish the post immediately or at a specific time and date.
- Whether to mark the post as private or not.
These things are decided and selected from the menu on the right hand side of the page, as shown below.
|Publish Status||Publish Immediately / Later||Publish as Private|
Publish Status: To publish the post immediately simply leave the settings as default and click the 'Publish' button. The post will immediately appear on your blogs main page.
Finally you could set it to 'Pending Review' which will not publish the post to the main page without it being further edited.
Publish Immediately: If you click the edit button the Publish box will expand and allow you to specify the time and date that you wish the post to be published on, as shown above.
This allows you to schedule when posts will appear on your blogs main page.
Publish as Private: If you click the edit button the Publish box will expand and allow you to specify the visibility level of the blog entry, which means who is allowed to see the blog entry
It is recommended to leave this alone as if you mark a blog entry as private then regular blog viewers, who will not be logged in, will not be able to see post items that are marked as private.
When you have made up your mind about the options you want for publishing simply click the 'Publish' button, as shown below.
The post item will be displayed on the main page of your blog, like the one shown below.
Deleting a Post
Deleting a post is a very simple process. When you delete a post it is removed from the blogs main page and permanently deleted.
To delete a post you must go to the Post management page. To do this click the 'Posts' menu item on the left and then the 'Edit' option, as highlighted below.
Then simply select the post(s) that you wish to delete and hit the delete button, as highlighted below. The post and associated comments will then be removed from the blog main page completely.
When you click the 'Delete' link you will be presented with a message box, as shown below. This is the last chance to cancel you deletion of the post. If you want to delete the post just click the 'OK' button.