Blogs - Posts
What is a Post?
Writing posts and pages is the core activity in blogs. You can start your blogging at the Write menu. In blogging, you can write either posts or pages. When you're writing a regular blog entry, you write a post. Posts automatically appear in reverse chronological order on your blog's home page. Pages, on the other hand, are for content such as "About Me," "Contact Me," etc. Pages live outside of the normal blog chronology, and are often used to present information about yourself or your site that is somehow timeless -- information that is always applicable. You can use Pages to organize and manage any amount of content.
Creating a Post
When you first login to the blog dashboard you few options on how to create a new post.
You can start to create a new post in one of two ways
- Click the 'Write' tab on the top menu
- Click the 'Write a new Post' button in the centre of the dashboard
Both options are highlighted in the image below.
When you click one of these options you will be brought to the creation page for a new post. It is here where you actually write the text and carry out the formatting options for the post that will appear on the main page of your blog. The interface is shown below.
When you are finished writing the writing/editing the text for a post you need to decide a few things.
- Whether to publish, mark for review or leave unpublish the post.
- Whether to publish the post immediately or at a specific time and date.
- Whether to mark the post as private.
These things are decided and selected from the menu on the right hand side of the page, as shown below.
|Publish Status||Publish Immedialty / Later||Publish as Private|
Publish Status: To publish the post immediately simply drop the Publish Status box down to 'Publish', as shown above, and click the same button. The post will immediately appear on your blogs main page.
You could also put it to 'Unpublished' and click that save button. The post would be saved but not displayed on your blogs main page.
Finally you could set it to 'Pending Review' which will not publish the post to the main page without it being further edited.
Publish Immediately: If you click the edit button the Publish box will expand and allow you to specify the time and date that you wish the post to be published on, as shown above.
This allows you schedule when posts will appear on your blogs main page.
Publish as Private: When you ticked the 'Keep this post private' tick box, as shown above, the post will only be viewable by users who are logged into your blog.
This is **** NOT RECOMMENDED **** as regular blog viwers will not be logged in and will not be able to see post items that are marked as private.
When you have made up your mind about the options you want for publishing simply click the 'Publish' button, as shown below.
The post item will be displayed on the main page of your blog, like the one shown below.
Deleting a Post
Deleting a post is a very simple process. When you delete a post it is removed from the blogs main page and permanantly deleted.
To delete a post you must go to the Post management page. To do this click the 'Manage' tab on the top menu and then the 'Post' section beneath it, as highlighted below.
Then simply select the post(s) that you wish to delete and hit the delete button, as highlighted below. The post and assosiated comments will then be removed from the blog main page completly.